Chimamanda Adichie Wins PEN Pinter Prize Award

Chimamanda Adichie Wins PEN Pinter Prize Award


Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is in the news again, as she adds another accolade to her name, she emerges winner of the PEN Pinter Prize 2018. She is expected to receive the award at a public ceremony at the British Library on the evening of Tuesday 9 October, where she will deliver an address, according to a statement by the organizers of the award. It is fascinating to see the prolific and outspoken writer, Ms. Chimamanda, frequent in the news, this time, she is not in the news for her debateable opinions or feminism, but for her well-deserved accolades.

The PEN Pinter Prize was established in 2009 by the charity English PEN, which defends freedom of expression and promotes literature, in memory of Nobel-Laureate playwright Harold Pinter. The prize is awarded annually to a writer of outstanding literary merit from Britain, the Republic of Ireland or the Commonwealth who, in the words of Harold Pinter’s Nobel Prize in Literature speech, casts an ‘unflinching, unswerving’ gaze upon the world and shows a ‘fierce intellectual determination … to define the real truth of our lives and our societies’.

According to the English PEN, Chimamanda was chosen by the following judges: President of English PEN Philippe Sands; historian, biographer and widow of Harold Pinter Antonia Fraser; writer and critic Alex Clark; poet, playwright and performer Inua Ellams, and Chair of Judges and Chair of trustees for English PEN Maureen Freely.

Former winners of the PEN Pinter Prize are: Michael Longley (2017), Margaret Atwood (2016), James Fenton (2015), Salman Rushdie (2014), Tom Stoppard (2013), Carol Ann Duffy (2012), David Hare (2011), Hanif Kureishi (2010) and Tony Harrison (2009).  Former International Writers of Courage have been: Mahvash Sabet (2017), Ahmedur Rashid Chowdhury a.k.a.Tutul (2016), Raif Badawi (2015), Mazen Darwish (2014), Iryna Khalip (2013), Samar Yazbek (2012), Roberto Saviano (2011), Lydia Cacho (2010) and Zarganar (Maung Thura) (2009).


The news of Chimamanda’s emergence as the winner of the PEN Pinter Prize 2018 was published on the website of the organizers, click here to follow the event.


Click our contact us page or email us here  to submit an article or story for publication online.

Credit: English PEN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Place orders from our varied number of products, we fulfill all orders diligently. Dismiss

%d bloggers like this: